Have Your Say

Are you aware that the land set aside in Wright for Community Facilities is to be subdivided and a large part of it used for medium density housing?  See the announcement by the Public Housing Renewal Taskforce about Section 29 Wright (the area bounded by Diesendorf Street, Max Jacobs Avenue, Gornall Street, and Steve Irwin Avenue). goo.gl/FjFx5d

Wright is a planned suburb and that planning purposely set aside a reasonably sized block for the future amenity of the Wright Community. Indeed, this site is the only land in Wright that is not zoned as residential or multi-use. While the proposed sub-division will leave some land for a future community facility, the huge reduction in size of the site will significantly constrain future community options.

The kinds of things that could be developed on a Community Facilities zoned block include a multi-use community building for community-based groups and organisations (e.g. religious groups, scouts); support services or facilities for youth, disabled, or aged residents; and other cultural, health or recreation facilities. Specifically designed supportive housing for the aged or disabled is also a permitted use under this zoning.

This is not an issue about the merits of public housing; this is about compromising the only block of land that was specifically set aside to provide the residents of Wright with community facilities.  There are still vacant blocks in Wright that are zoned for housing that could be used for the proposed 32-unit development instead of the Community Facilities site and the planning now underway for the northern extensions to both Wright and Coombs could accommodate this requirement without impacting this site.

This is our community and our views have not been sought, much less given any consideration, in the process of usurping the land set aside for facilities to support our community. Although no meetings have been planned in Molonglo, which in itself is indicative of the lack of engagement with the people who live in the Molonglo valley, there will be two public events in Weston Creek that you may wish to attend:

  • 7:30-9:00 Thursday 6 April, Chapman Primary School, Rescheduled Weston Creek Community Council Public Meeting
  • 11am-1pm Saturday 8 April, Weston Creek Community Centre, Parkinson Street Weston (adjacent to Cooleman Court Shopping Centre).   Public Housing Renewal Taskforce drop-in information session.

Now is the time to make our voices heard before it is too late and the whole suburb is filled with houses and apartments with no community facilities.  If you are concerned about what is happening, please take the time to:

  • Write, email, phone or visit in person, the relevant ACT Government Ministers and/or our local members of the Legislative Assembly (their contact details are below);
  • attend the public meeting and the information sessions;

If you do contact a Minister or local member, please let us know by email at the address below so that we can gauge, and continue to represent, the community’s views.


Minister for Housing and Suburban Development
Yvette Berry
Ph: (02) 620 50233
GPO Box 1020, Canberra, ACT 2601

Minister for Planning and Land Management
Mick Gentleman
Ph: (02) 620 50218
GPO Box 1020, Canberra, ACT 2601

Assembly Members for Weston Creek/Molonglo (Murrumbidgee Electorate)
Bec Cody MLA (Labor)
Ph: (02) 620 51448
GPO Box 1020, Canberra, ACT 2601

Chris Steel MLA (Labor)
Ph: (02) 620 51470
GPO Box 1020, Canberra, ACT 2601

Jeremy Hanson MLA (Liberal)
Ph: (02) 620 50133
GPO Box 1020,Canberra, ACT 2601

Giulia Jones MLA (Liberal)
Ph: (02) 620 50234
GPO Box 1020,Canberra, ACT 2601

Caroline Le Couteur MLA (Greens)
Ph: (02) 620 51941
GPO Box 1020,Canberra, ACT 2601